Full Disclosure.

Link to the article:  http://bits.blogs.nytimes.com/2014/02/03/tech-companies-release-government-data-requests/?_php=true&_type=blogs&src=twr&smid=tw-nytimes&_r=0

I understand the importance of national security, and I also understand the privacy needed to maintain it.  I just don’t quite know how I feel about the government wanting to only release some details of their requests.

The article asserts that “the deal allows the companies to detail in broad terms what the government has asked for, but does not allow them to characterize the information that was requested.”  I find it interesting that the government can behave in a manner that many would consider intrusive, while they greatly limit their own transparency with regards to the information being requested.

I’m not saying that the United States government should disclose all of its findings, but I do think that different approach should be taken.  Maybe after a fixed interval of time has passed the government discloses more information regarding their efforts.

Not only does the behavior seem sketchy to me, but I also find it interesting that the data requested varies so widely between technology companies.

 

Leave a Reply

